Irony in Kindertotenlieder
Fri, 19 Jan 2018

Mahler’s Kindertotenlieder is filled with irony. The first song begins with the phrase “Now will the sun so brightly rise again.” Though a positive text, the soloist sings in a sad manner. You can find a performance of Matthias Goerne singing at the BBC Proms here.

How does this piece make you feel? Does it move your “affections” (or emotions) in a certain way? Do you think this piece is indeed ironic or do you think that Mahler clearly conveys the depth of emotion experienced by a parent after losing a child?


More from Clef Notes:

Controversy Behind Kindertotenlieder
Wed, 17 Jan 2018

Mahler's Kindertotenlieder
Mon, 15 Jan 2018

What Stravinsky had to say about The Rite of Spring
Thu, 11 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind The Rite of Spring
Tue, 09 Jan 2018

John Cage and Aleotoricism
Thu, 04 Jan 2018

What is music?
Tue, 02 Jan 2018

Happy New Year!
Mon, 01 Jan 2018

Merry Christmas from 90.9 WGUC and Clef Notes!
Mon, 25 Dec 2017

O magnum mysterium
Wed, 20 Dec 2017

Happy Birthday Beethoven!
Sat, 16 Dec 2017

Richard Strauss' Till Eulenspiegel
Tue, 12 Dec 2017

Brahms and Absolute Music
Thu, 07 Dec 2017

Absolute vs. Programmatic Music
Tue, 05 Dec 2017

The Nutcracker: A Holiday Tradition
Thu, 30 Nov 2017

A Sleigh Ride with Delius
Tue, 28 Nov 2017

A Playlist for Thanksgiving
Thu, 23 Nov 2017

Arnold Bax's "November Woods"
Tue, 21 Nov 2017

Frank Bridge's "Summer"
Thu, 16 Nov 2017

A Mendelssohn Summer
Tue, 14 Nov 2017

Springtime with Copland
Thu, 09 Nov 2017